LiteChat™ is a complete chat server package which incorporates the features of sophisticated Java Chat applications without the need to download slow loading applets or software.

What makes LiteChat one of the fastest loading chat servers available is the way chat sessions are stored and managed. To reduce resource consumption and increase speed, LiteChat uses no external database. Using PHP, JavaScript, HTML, and text files, LiteChat offers many sought after features which until now have only been available with IRC and Java chats. Unlike IRC chats, LiteChat runs on a totally private network, so only authorized users have access to chat sessions.

Best of all, LiteChat is absolutely free with a Business Hosting account at Webmasters.com.

 
User Features
Operator Features
User Features
Private Network
LiteChat runs on a totally private chat network which means only authorized users can access your chatrooms. Unlike IRC chat, No other client or server is able to connect to our network.
 
Choice Of Colors
In the initial log in screen, users can select from a multitude of colors to use for the duration of their chat session. This helps distinguish users, plus gives them the ability to customize their appearance in the chat.
 
Entry With Image
In the initial log in screen, users can enter the URL of any image they like to use for the duration of their chat session. Like choice of colors, this feature allows users to have their picture or any image on the left of their name.
 
Private Messages
Users are able to send private messages to any other user by clicking on a radio button next to that user's name, and then clicking on the "Private" button. Only the person to whom the private message was sent and the person sending the message can read it.
 
Private Rooms
Any user can invite another user to a private room by first clicking on the radio button next to that user, and then the "Private Room" button. The user is then directed to a private room inaccessible to anyone other than the user being invited, while the user being invited is sent a link to the private room in a private message. When that user clicks on the Private Room link, he or she is directed to the private room where the user who invited them awaits. There is no limit on the number of Private Rooms that can be opened from any chat session.
 
Multiple Room Entry Points
In the initial log in screen users are prompted to select a room for their chat. Also, rooms can be changed any time in the middle of a chat session by selecting a room, and clicking on the "Enter" button..
 
Ability To Send Images
Images can be sent by clicking on the "Image" box, and then entering the URL of any image on the web.
 
Ability To Send Hyperlinks
Hyperlinks can be sent by clicking on the "Link" box, and then entering the URL of any website. When a user clicks on a hyperlink from the chat, a new browser window is opened to load that web page.
 
Ability To Change Nicks
Users can change their nicknames, color and image by clicking on the "New Name" button at any time during the chat.
 
Persistent Connection
The chat client is connected to the server at all times, so chat data is continuously updated in real time. For maximum performance, LiteChat does not use Meta Refresh Tags to retrieve data.
 
Real Time User Updates
User lists are continuously updated in real time as new users enter the chat, and others leave.
 
Scrolling On/Off Switch
By default, LiteChat is set to auto scroll down each time a new message is entered. Users can disable this feature by clicking on the "Scrolling" button. To enable Auto Scrolling after it has been disabled, the "Scrolling" button needs to be clicked again. This feature is useful when there are many messages or images a user has not seen at the top of the chat screen.
 
User Validation
Each time a new user enters any room, LiteChat verifies that there are no users by that name already chatting. If that is the case, the user is prompted to enter a different nickname.
 
Customizable HTML
Webmasters are given access to one html page at the top of the screen to customize as they choose. This is a great feature for placing links, logos, and sponsor banners on the chat.
 
Log-In Data Storage
Each time a user enters the chat, his or her image and nickname are stored by LiteChat for future visits. To delete or modify their data, users simply enter new info, and log in.
Operator Features
Unlimited Operators
There is no limit on the number and level of operators in any room.
 
Three Operator Levels
  1. Master Operator - Can kick and ban users in any room, view all private messages, enter private rooms, and receive audio alerts each time a user enters or exits the room they are monitoring. The Master Operator is identified with three asterisks (***) before their name.
  2. Room Operator - Can kick users in any room and receive audio alerts each time a user enters or exits the room they are monitoring. The Room Operator is identified with two asterisks (**) before their name.
  3. Lecturer - Can send public and private messages in a Lecture Room. No other user except for the master operator is given this privilege. The Room Operator is identified with one asterisk (*) before their name.
Operator Audio Alerts
Master and Room Operators hear an audio chime each time a user enters or leaves the room being monitored.
 
View Private Messages
The Master Operator can read private messages in all rooms.
 
Enter Private Rooms
The Master Operator is able to enter all private rooms opened during a single chat session.
 
Lecture Room
The Lecturer and Master Operator is able to send public and private messages in a lecture room. Regular users are able to send private messages to anyone else in the room except for the Lecturer. This feature was designed for guest speakers to chat without being disturbed. Users can field their questions to the Master Operator who can in turn pass them on to the Lecturer.
 
Ability To Kick Users
The Master and Room Operator can remove any user from a chat session by first clicking on the radio button next to that user, and then on the "Kick" button. Once kicked, a user should not be able to re-enter the room he or she was kicked from under any nickname until all users leave the room.
 
Ability To Ban Users
The Master Operator can permanently remove any user from all chat rooms by first clicking on the radio button next to that user, and then on the "Ban" button. Once banned, a user should not be able to re-enter any room of the chat permanently. This feature can be reversed if needed.
 
Auto Session Cleanup
The chat window is cleared within 60 seconds after the last user leaves the room. The next user entering the room will only see their message on the screen, with all messages from the previous session deleted.
 
Operator Account Administration
LiteChat makes it easy to create and maintain operator login accounts. The Operator Admin tool allows creation, editing, and deletion of operator accounts (nicknames, passwords, and privileges).
 
Special Operator Login
The Special Operator Login screen allows operators to log in using their operator credentials created with the Admin tool. Operators are only allowed to use nicknames assigned to them by the master admin.

 

Copyright WEBMASTERS.COM. All Rights Reserved.